Daily Archives: December 6, 2011

Sign-Posts and Stars

In The Lion King, Simba describes the stars in the night sky as past kings that look down upon the land, leading the way for future kings. To Simba, these stars are considered guides, or sign-posts.

The navigation properties of the stars have been present since the beginning of man. Some of us also look upon the stars as figurative guides. Signs in the stars can shape one’s actions and decisions.

The sign-post can shape one’s actions and decisions.

Simba communicated with the kings of the past through the stars.

I am comunicating with the makers of the sign-posts to find my path in life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Forum

Google Images

Thank you Google Images, for you have not only made my blog ecetically pleasing, but you have also led me to a few creative decisions.

1) With your various pictures of African landscape, you presented the idea of a journey through the forest of my blog.

2) Which also led me to my logo of the sign-post.

3) When I did not have a obvious image in my head of something that related to the subject of a post, I would gather the mood of the post and think of a word that encapsulates that mood. Then I would type that word in the Google Image search bar, leading me to the perfect picture for a more reflective post.

Leave a comment

Filed under Forum

Final Words on the Blog and My Wide Image

Creating this blog of wide image has not only sharpened my knowlege and skills regarding new media but has also helped me more personally. Working out my wide image has allowed me to get more introspective within the last few months, allowing me to locate the essence of my nature.

Most specifically, in creating my Logo, I was able to put together all of the pieces and establish a personal motto: “Look hard, listen harder.”

I am at that stage in my life where I am evaluating the culmination of all my experiences in search for direction. This is what I did in order to create the blog and this is what I will do in order to find that direction for the next step.

Leave a comment

Filed under Forum

Filmic Approach to Community Story

I wanted to bypass a dry documentation of history as well as a pretentious poetic style of telling my community story. I followed my own internal signs and came up with a creative approach that I could run with.  As a student of film and creative writing, I decided to tell my community story in the best way I knew how: in a filmic style, evoking more sound and imagery.

This approach goes well with my motto: “Look hard, listen harder.”

This approach also allowed me to get closer to the heart of my wide image. With an intimate focus onTrapper Nelson, I was able to insert myself into his environment, making it easier to scope out the vehicle for my emblem: the sign-post.

Leave a comment

Filed under Forum

On Creating My Emblem

I finished reading Wabi Sabi by Leonard Koren and I gathered that our emblems must not be overly obvious. The more rustic, possibly, more natural emblems are favored and are thought of as possessing Wabi Sabi.

My blog is set in a lion’s jungle. I describe my search for melody in my family stories as a hunt for my wide image in my own vast jungle of experiences.

My entertainment story shows that Simba is a hunter.

My community story takes place in my then, undeveloped hometown where a man named Trapper Nelson lived in the forest, trapping native species.

I thought long and hard on what contenders there would be for my emblem and I came up with two: the forest and the sign-post.

In order to hone in on the vehicle of my Emblem, I ‘listened harder’ to my action of hunting and asked myself: “Which thing acts as a vehicle for my action?”

This is where I knew my vehicle was the sign-post.

Leave a comment

Filed under Forum